Forgive Us, to the Same Degree That We Forgive…..

When thinking about being forgiven, then being allowed into “Heaven”, my thought process went like this….”I’m not THAT “bad”, I’ve seen worse…I forgive people.” Then I attempt to put names with the “forgiven”…the ones whose “trespasses” are all but forgotten. The people who are forgiven, AND trusted, just like “before”. It was a short list. I know better, and yet…
Raise your hand if you’ve heard something like, “…and forgive us, as we forgive those who trespass against us”, or something similar. What DOES that mean, exactly?
At first look, it seems to mean…I forgive (some)(enough to prove I can do it…I don’t need to be highly successful at it. I’ll still be 100% “forgivable”, cuz’ I’m OK.). Well, I had better do better! Why?
Few could guess that, “as we forgive…” isn’t SAYING “WHILE” we forgive, or “BECAUSE” we forgive. It DOES mean, “to the same DEGREE” that we forgive….. It’s JUSTICE, SIMPLE and PERFECT. So says THIS death survivor. (There was nothing “NEAR” about it!)

Leave a Reply

